You are here: Home / Projects / Trailer of the Week / Winners of the Nobel Peace Price

Winners of the Nobel Peace Price

The Norwegian Nobel Committee has decided that the Nobel Peace Prize for 2011 is to be divided in three equal parts between

Ellen Johnson Sirleaf,

Leymah Gbowee

and Tawakkul Karman

for their non-violent struggle for the safety of women and for women’s rights to full participation in peace-building work. We cannot achieve democracy and lasting peace in the world unless women obtain the same opportunities as men to influence developments at all levels of society.

Ellen Johnson Sirleaf is Africa’s first democratically elected female president. Since her inauguration in 2006, she has contributed to securing peace in Liberia, to promoting economic and social development, and to strengthening the position of women.

Leymah Gbowee mobilized and organized women across ethnic and religious dividing lines to bring an end to the long war in Liberia, and to ensure women’s participation in elections. She has since worked to enhance the influence of women in West Africa during and after war.

In the most trying circumstances, both before and during the "Arab spring", Tawakkul Karman has played a leading part in the struggle for women’s rights and for democracy and peace in Yemen.

To inspire you on this issue we would like to recommend you to watch the documentary “Pray the Devil Back to Hell” by Gini Reticker that won the Cinema for Peace Award for Justice 2009, presented by Chief Prosecutor Luis-Moreno Ocampo. Furthermore, we recommend the film “Iron Jawed Angels” by Katja von Garnier and the film Taking Root by Alan Dater and Lisa Merton that were both nominated for a Cinema for Peace Award.



Pray the Devil Back to Hell – for showing how women ended the civil war in Liberia

Iron Jawed Angels – for showing the process for women’s rights to vote in the US

Taking Root – for showing the brave fight for equal rights, justice and green issues by the late Waaghari Maathai